I’m Teaching on Skillshare!

As some of you know, I am now teaching on Skillshare.

If you’re not familiar with Skillshare, it is an online learning community with thousands of classes on everything from business to graphic design to fashion to cooking to craft – and many more. Classes are video based, and each has a project attached to it.

So far I have published 4 spinning classes, but I have dyeing, knitting and crochet classes in the pipeline, along with more spinning ones.

By using this special link, you’ll get access to all of my classes, plus all other classes on Skillshare for 3 months for just $0.99.

The classes I have published so far are these:

Caring for your Wheel – a necessary starting point for all spinners!

caring title med

Spinning Finer – this class takes you from where you are now to spinning finer and then fine.  If you can spin a single, however bumpy, this is for you!

spinning finer

finer project

Spinning Ultra-Fine – for folk who want to try spinning the finest thread possible, either because they want to knit/weave/etc with them, or as a technical exercise.

spinning untrafine

ultrafineproject

Spinning Silk – Silk is very slippery and folk sometimes find it difficult to work with after wool.  However, once you get the hang of it, spinning silk is huge fun.

spinning silk

silk thicker skein

The introductory video of every class can be watched by anyone.  I have also put these videos on my YouTube channel.

Some of the classes I have started filming:

  • Spinning Exotics
  • Reading Lace Knitting Charts
  • Stating Lace Knitting
  • Crochet for Left Handers

In the planning stage:

  • dyeing with Koolaid
  • tie dyeing with Dylon
  • more lace knitting classes
  • working with fleece
  • Estonian lace knitting stitches

If you click the ‘Follow’ link on my Skillshare page you will automatically be told when I publish more classes.

I look forward to seeing you there.

5 thoughts on “I’m Teaching on Skillshare!

  1. I am so disappointed that not only was I required to pay $0.99 but I also had to sign up for a $96.00 (minimum) per year subscription. I rechecked your blog post and there was no mention of this, which leaves me with a very bad feeling. I really don’t mind paying for classes if I feel inclined to learn something new but trying to sneak an unrequested subscription on to my credit card feels just a bit scamming. I would like to see you be a bit more forthcoming with this information in your offer. Thanks.

    1. You have to leave details, but you do not have to pay anything unless you wish to continue after the 3 months. It is clear, I thought, that you get 3 months for your 99c, but if you want to continue after that you have to pay the full monthly amount. You can, of course leave whenever you like.

  2. Heh! I thought the 99 cents was a mistake. Very good value but I did understand that it would cost more for the total number of lessons. I would have to put a loonie in an envelope to pay my three months! Thank you for letting us know about your lessons.

Leave a Reply

