Two New Patterns

I always love it when Barbara Brown of Ancient Arts Yarn emails me asking for a pattern.  This year it has happened twice.

The first one is crochet.  I have been doing quite a bit of crochet design for The Art of Crochet, and I had told Barb about a shawl I did for them.  She asked me to do one for AAY in their new bulky yarn.  Of course I said yes.

Ancient Arts Yarn 002

Being a child of the 60s I hanker towards hippy fashion!   I love the current trend for fringing so I designed a shawl which would go both with floaty summer and evening dresses, with jeans and boots AND wrap round to form a warm winter scarf.

Ancient Arts Yarn 003

Ancient Arts Yarn 004

The shawl comes in two sizes, about 56 (75)” long  x 15 (20)” wide; approx140 (188) x 37(50) cm excluding the fringe.  The smaller one takes 2 skeins of Big Squeeze and the larger one (pictured) 3 skeins.  The colourway is Eiffel Tower.

Ancient Arts Yarn 001

The second pattern is one I started a few years ago but had never got round to publishing.  You know how much I like Scotties, and this is an I Love Scottie Scarf.  The first one I made was in a handspun yarn….

Ancient Arts Yarn 007

… but AAY suggested the perfect yarn would be Black Scottie from their Woof Collection.  And I agree!

Ancient Arts Yarn 005

Ancient Arts Yarn 006

Ancient Arts Yarn 008

You can buy the On The Fringe Shawl here and the Scottie scarf here.  While you are there, check out the glorious yarns.  AAY yarns are all brilliant to work with and such pretty colours.  I don’t think I am giving anything away if I say I don’t think this will be the last time I work with them?!

 

2 thoughts on “Two New Patterns

Leave a Reply

