Two New Patterns

When I have a pattern in a magazine, I put all the files in a folder ready to put out in my format under my name later. Recently I found a couple that I thought I had already put out. I hadn’t – but I have now!

The first is the Dotty Hat and Collar. This was in Knit Edge a while ago.

Dotty Set and Crescent shawl 002It is knitted in Cascade Superwash 220, but works with other DK yarns. The lace trim is worked first, then the crown is picked up and knitted upwards. The hat can be worn with the brim up, or with it down. There are four sizes to fit from toddler to adult, and as it is knitted in garter stitch, it is very stretchy, and each size will accommodate a variety of heads.

Dotty Set and Crescent shawl 003The collar is the first one I knitted in the wedge shape I have used several times since. It is knitted from the tip, and can be stopped at the end of any repeat of the lace edging. As large holes make up the pattern, any of these can be used to fasten the collar, so it can be worn in a variety of different ways. The fastening I have used is two buttons back-to-back, so they can be moved anywhere, or not used at all.

Dotty Set and Crescent shawl 004
The second pattern is the Sharks Tooth Crescent Shawl. This was in The Knitter a while ago, and is made up in Fyberspates Cumulus, a haloed lace weight. Other suitable yarns include Rowan Kid Silk Haze, or many 4 ply yarns.

Dotty Set and Crescent shawl 005

This is knitted from tip to tip. Although the pattern has only one size, it is easy to adjust the size by working more or fewer lace repeats on the increase/decrease section, or the straight section, or both.

Both patterns are available in my Ravelry store and my Etsy shop.

One thought on “Two New Patterns

Leave a Reply

