Exploring Shawl Shapes – 27 mini shawls to knit

Finally, my new book is available for pre-order! On the Northern Lace Press website.

As some of you know, this book has been in the pipeline for a good while. I started by collecting the patterns for mini shawls from all over my computers. I then realised that, with a bit more work, I had the makings not just of a booklet, but of a book. Over the past few months I have been making the additional shawls to make the collection as complete as possible. I have been helped in this by two knitters from my Ravelry group – Su Lambert and Jenny Vowles – and by Elly Doyle. Su knitted the Pi Shawl; Jenny knitted the Orenburgh shawl and Elly knitted the Wedge Circle.  I am very grateful to them, to Patricia Williams for hand-spinning the yarn for the coloured square, and to Judith Brodnicki for doing the page design.

As well as using mini shawls for workshops on the regional traditions, I have used them for workshops on the different shapes of shawl. I split the shapes into three families – triangles, squares and circles. The book gives examples of the main methods of working for all these shapes. Many of them can be made larger fairly simply, and the book gives suggestions of how to do this. Empty charts of the different shapes are also given, so you can copy these to create your own versions.

Here are pictures of some of the shawls in the book.

Exploring Shawl Shapes 01Exploring Shawl Shapes 002Exploring Shawl Shapes 001Exploring Shawl Shapes 013Exploring Shawl Shapes 012Exploring Shawl Shapes 011Exploring Shawl Shapes 010PhotoELF Edits: 2015:06:08 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; resizeExploring Shawl Shapes 02Exploring Shawl Shapes 007PhotoELF Edits: 2015:06:08 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; resizeFrom the blurb (which I didn’t write!!):

“Over the years, Liz has delighted students with the use of mini shawls to teach the construction of shawls. For the first time, knitters unable to travel to Orkney for Liz’s workshops can enjoy her shawl lessons along with many other techniques and styles designed specially for this book.”

This book includes
• Mini shawls of all shapes and a variety of constructions
• Points from the pro for finishing
• Instructions on how to resize most patterns to be full-size shawls
• Blank charts for designing your own
• Extra patterns for practicing your new skills

96 pages, 27 patterns, full colour throughout
ISBN 978-0-9930614-7-9

See photos of all the designs, errata that we know about, and order the book here.

Exploring Shawl Shapes cover

9 thoughts on “Exploring Shawl Shapes – 27 mini shawls to knit

  1. Too many for me to knit…

    Packers were here today… Best $500 I ever spent… Movers arrive on Thursday… Then I crash…

    Some lady is having her sect send me a Cashier’s check for $500 for a big box of yarn and about ten books… She is having her movers pick it all up… Always amazed at the different lives people lead… Hope it works out…

    Take care, Linda

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Dear Liz,

    Wonderful news that one can now order your new book – which I have now done, but silly me, in my haste, I forgot to add that I would like you to sign it for me, can you rectify that?

    Can’t wait for it to come and have also told one of my lace knitting friends about it as I know she will want one.

    Sorry you have not been well, hope you are feeling somewhat better now. I have been keeping fairly well and as we are having a bitterly cold spell, with snow, which is relatively rare, my dog and cat and I are hibernating and I have started to knit a Wedding Ring Shawl, I know that at 80 it is rather ambitious, but one can hope that it will come to fruition.

    I know how busy you are, so will close for now,

    Love Cynthia

Leave a Reply

