A Spinning Treat!

A Spinning Treat!

I wanted to give Judith Brodnicki, the page designer of my mini shawls book (out soon!), a present of hand spun yarn. I also wanted to try Babylonglegs’ fibre.

Judith told me that she liked most colours except yellow. She didn’t mind a bit of yellow, but not ALL yellow. Having met Judith last November for the premier of the Tell Them of Us film, I knew how she tended to dress, and her skin colour.

There weren’t two lots of the same fibre in the colours I was after, so I got two different ones, both on the same fibre base (Polworth). Both had the blue and the green, but one had the orange and the other a khaki green. When they came they both looked gorgeous and felt gorgeous!

I had already decided to spin each braid on a separate bobbin, and then to ply the bobbins, but I wasn’t sure how I would split the top before pre-drafting it. In the end I decided to pull each braid in half lengthways, then each half in half again. So I was working with 4 pieces. If one end of the top is A and the other end is B, I span the first A-to-B, the second B-to-A, etc.

The fibre was very easy to draft. I wanted a slightly thick-and-thin yarn of about worsted weight. Each 100g fitted nicely on to one of my Bliss bobbins.

PhotoELF Edits: 2015:05:10 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; resize

PhotoELF Edits: 2015:05:10 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; resize

I plied as a standard 2 ply. As one bobbin was spun a week before the other, I did bathe-test ‘yards’ in warm water to relax the twist before working out the amount of twist needed for a balanced yarn. (But no, I didn’t take a pic!!) One bobbin ended up with a slightly longer length that the other, but not enough to do anything about.

Once plied, it appeared to be a bit over plied…..

PhotoELF Edits: 2015:05:09 --- Saved as: 24-Bit JPEG (EXIF) Format 98 % --- crop; resize

… but once it was dry, it was perfectly balanced.

PhotoELF Edits: 2015:05:10 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; bright-contrast-color; resize

The two skins were then packed off to Judith! Fortunately she liked them, made the skeins into cakes straight away, and then swatched.

PhotoELF Edits: 2015:05:10 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; resize

She is going to make a cabled hat. Hopefully she will let us see it when finished!

6 thoughts on “A Spinning Treat!

  1. Lovely! I have just spent the weekend helping at a craft fair. There was not a lot of spinning around but I thought of you.

  2. Liz, Your spun-up (correct terminology? I’m not a spinner) is absolutely scrumptiously beautiful!

Leave a Reply

