Looking forward to 2014

I have finished my accounts and taxes.  I have tidied my cupboards.  I only have to hoover the floor and then I will be ready for the new year!

As I did last year, I’m ending my blogging year with the photos from the calendar I produce for Flotta.  I first did one three years ago after a friend saw the ones I had done for friends.  I sell about 25 each year, which for an island population of 65 is not bad!

So I hope everyone a really good 2014!

Our ferry, MV Hoy Head, approaching the pier
Our ferry, MV Hoy Head, approaching the pier
The shore at Pan Hope where I walk most days
The shore at Pan Hope where I walk most days
Fishing boat off Stanger Head
Fishing boat off Stanger Head
Looking across Golta to the hills of Orphir on West Mainland
Looking across Golta to the hills of Orphir on West Mainland
Wren on the prow of the wreck in Pan Hope
Wren on the prow of the wreck in Pan Hope

 

MV Hoy Head between Flotta and Fara.
MV Hoy Head between Flotta and Fara.

 

Summer evening light looking from the front of my house across to the doctor's surgery on the hill.
Summer evening light looking from the front of my house across to the doctor’s surgery on the hill.
Highland cattle, looking towards my house
Highland cattle, looking towards my house
Grey seals on Switha
Grey seals on Switha
WWII ruins on Golta, and over to the Orphir hills behind
WWII ruins on Golta, and over to the Orphir hills behind

 

Lurdy, which will be the new heritage center, with Pan Hope and Golta behind
Lurdy, which will be the new heritage center, with Pan Hope and Golta behind

 

The hills of Hoy from Flotta's West Hill
The hills of Hoy from Flotta’s West Hill

 

The community Christmas tree, outside my front door, moving in the wind.
The community Christmas tree, outside my front door, moving in the wind.

 

 

17 thoughts on “Looking forward to 2014

    1. In the UK the tax year runs from April, These have to be in by 31st January. So I had plenty of time! Each year I say I’ll do them earlier, but the week between Christmas and New Year has become traditional for me. That is my story and I am sticking to it!!

  1. What a lovely post and such beautiful pictures. I only went to Orkney once but was captivated by it. You are very lucky to have all this wild loveliness on your doorstep.

  2. I think this is the fullest look I have had at your island home. The little piece of info that only 65 people live there, well, what a unique place to live! I think I’d like it, except for the harsh weather that would limit my horseback riding time…. 😉

  3. Happy 2014 Liz – may much knitting be done!
    I put my new Scots calendar up today – some lovely pictures but yours are magical!

    1. When I moved to Orkney I thought I would miss trees. But I don’t miss them as much as I thought I would. I s’pose it is because there are other things in their place – the moors and the sea…

Leave a Reply

