Playing Catch-Up

I can’t believe it is so long since I last blogged. Difficult train journeys meant my cold etc got worse not better, and I am only now getting back to being able to put two words together!

So what have you missed??

First, my mother’s birthday lunch. She was 85 on 7th November and I was able to be there for the day. My brother and sister-in-law from Newcastle came down on the Friday, and on the Saturday we all went out for a meal at The Close in Tetbury. This is a lovely old building which serves very good food.

PhotoELF Edits:2012:11:30 --- Save - Overwrite --- gamma; resize

And once more I couldn’t resist the trees!

trees at The Close

Then back to the house for nibble and photos. This is Mum and Dad with their three children – Tim, Jon and me!

M&D and kids

After a good weekend it was back to Orkney in several stages, and finally home. I got back to Flotta just in time to go to the RNLI fair run by the ladies of the Longhope Lifeboat Guild.

RNLI sale

For those who don’t know, the RNLI – Royal National Lifeboat Institution – is the voluntary body that saves lives at sea all round the UK coast. Our ‘local’ lifeboat station is Longhope, a crew with a long and distinguished history. Which means I HAD to spend money…. Here is the present Longhope lifeboat,The Helen Comrie,  on exercise off Flotta earlier in the summer:

The Helen Comrie off Flotta

And finally, a change in The Dog. I always get him clipped in the autumn as when his coat is long it takes for ever to dry and he gets cold. When it is short, he stays warmer.

So before…

48 Scottie before

… and after:

Scottie round West Hill

(And before anyone says Coat, Scottie will NOT, under ANY circumstances, wear a coat. If I put one on him he freezes and refuses to move a muscle. The only way I got pix of him in a coat I’d knitted was to hold THREE treats. He wouldn’t play for 1 or 2, but the 3rd did it!!!)

6 thoughts on “Playing Catch-Up

  1. I just love the places you go.. that lovely old castle building ! Your dog is just MrPersonality ! I can’t wait to go shopping again with you for Christmas Goodies … at that shop you were last year ! 😉

    1. The lifeboat pix were pure luck – I always carry a small camera in my pocket, and I was walking the dog down to the shore when I saw the lifeboat come into view at quite a speed. I got several shots….

      Liz

  2. Love your photos and great for your family to be together for the birthday. Scottie looks a real personality!!!! I remember Billy Connolly saying in one of his shows there are no trees on the Orkneys – poor Scottie!!!!!

  3. Glad to see you back in the saddle, so to speak!! Love the photos & love that dawg – he isn’t any dummy, that’s for sure!! I love Terriers, just big dogs in little bodies. They’re so sure of themselves, so bossy & right ALL the time! He’s so cute when he’s clipped too.

Leave a Reply

