Nairn

After the Glasgow School of Yarn I spent some time in Inverness with an old friend, most of it working, but some of it shopping. Inverness is a nice place to shop – everything is close together! Steve and Nigel came down for a couple of days, and we hit Marks and Spencer’s food hall for tins and jars of different food. (One of the few down sides of island life is you come to crave ‘different’ food!). When they went back the back of the car was almost touching the ground!!

Then it was off to a hotel in Nairn for four days. This was my ‘holiday’ and I had chosen the Sunny Brae Hotel from its reviews and good food awards. I was not disappointed. My room was lovely – large with plenty of space and beautifully appointed without being OTT. I could adjust the heating in my room, and there was underfloor heating in the shower room – bliss…!! I had asked for a room with a sea view, and there were chairs by the window so I could sit and knit and watch all the dog walkers on the green space between me and the sea!

Before I go anywhere I always look online to see whether there is a yarn shop anywhere near. I found one in Nairn, and it was only a few minutes walk from the hotel. So first thing Monday morning that is where I went. Stupidly I didn’t take any pix… It is a lovely shop, packed high with all sorts of yarn, and catering to all pockets. The owner, Marie, clearly know both her stock and her customers – while I was nosing about several folk came in to show her stuff and ask her advice.

On that visit I bought some bits – I had stupidly sent my little scissors back with Steve, and my wool needles to Strathpeffer. And I had come away without my 4 mm Signature Arts straights. The Pony ones I bought do the job very well, but it does go to show how incredible the SA ones are – SO fast and SO pointy…

Over the days the weather varied, but I got out each day for a while, walking the beach….

…. and watching the swans and ducks on the river….

… and the boats in the harbour.

On my final day I went back to the yarn shop and bought a few more things. I was very, very pushed for space so could only get a couple of balls of yarn. But I did get a few of Marie’s fabulous buttons – spoilt for choice again!

James Brett Monsoon aran weight and Schoppel Wolle Lace, plus buttons to match

So now I am in Strathpeffer for four nights. Today is sorting out and pottering about, and getting ready to teach tomorrow and Sunday. This time it is knitwear design, and I am looking forward to it!

5 thoughts on “Nairn

Leave a Reply

