The Magic of Shetland Lace

At long last I can tell you what I have been working on off and on for the past six months. It is a book to be called The Magic of Shetland Lace and it is due to be published in August 2013. The UK edition will be published by Search Press, with colour and cast off, while the US edition will be published by St Martins with color and bind off!

I am working with the lovely team at Quarto Publishing and we have got to the stage of most decisions made and the hard graft on my part taking place. I am seeing lace charts in my sleep…!

The book will contain sections on techniques and a stitch dictionary, along with a few complete projects. It is aimed at both beginners who think lace is too difficult and designers who want to choose stitch patterns to use in their own textiles. And everyone in between!

The techniques section will hopefully demystify knitting lace, using artwork and photos to explain key techniques and lots of pix of knitted examples and comparisons. As in my ebook, the object is to lead folk through from their first ‘yarn over’ to be able to adapt or design projects of their own.

The stitch dictionary section will have the patterns arranged by stitch and row count and each will be labelled with a ‘concentration level’. As many of you will know, some patterns, while not being more DIFFICULT than others, do need more CONCENTRATION. All but the most complex will have row-by-row instructions as well as charts.

The photos here may well appear in the book somewhere. For the moment the projects are secret – but I think you will like them…!

23 thoughts on “The Magic of Shetland Lace

  1. We will lovelovelove the book, I know. Be sure to keep us posted and remind me to save up a few dollars.

  2. What a super variety of textures.In my ignorance I thought shetland lace was all “shawls through wedding rings”.
    Will there be ideas for novices in the book ?

  3. Can’t wait! Love the idea of “concentration” not difficulty as that’s the main criteria for me and I love when designers use that kind of thinking!

  4. It’s on my “want list” now. It did take me a second or two to understand the reason for the differences -of course, it’s UK vs US spelling and terminology. I must say that having read many knitting books I do understand both versions!

Leave a Reply

