My First Skein in the SR 30″ Wheel

I have finished my first skein on the new wheel:

It is about lace weight, but I was playing and wasn’t overly fussed about exact weight and consistency. These things are servants not masters!

I started with three 25g batts from Carol at Feisty Woman Designs on Etsy. I have used her batts before more than once – they are always lovely, and these were no exception. I bought them a bit ago because of the colour, and being merino were just right for this.

I tore one batt roughly in half so had about 37g for each of two bobbins. As I spun the treadling got easier and easier as the axel other moving bits took up the oil. By the time I was through with the first bobbin that part of the wheel was working perfectly – nothing could be better!

The second bobbin needed more oil, of course, but once that was sorted the second bobbin went well too:

It was when I came to ply that a couple of slight problems with the flyer side of things became obvious.

The first I had noticed before. The flyer itself has a grove in the wood presumably for the thread to run in so that it does not touch the wood and therefore does not get worn or roughed up. Only it, or the hooks, are not placed right. If the thread goes round the end hook it doesn’t go in the groove:

And if it goes on the second hook it fits the groove but touches the end of the bobbin:

This isn’t the end of the world, but I would have thought it shouldn’t happen.

The other problem is more of a pain. As plying doesn’t need a huge amount of care once one has sorted the amount of twist required, I went to the smaller of the two whorls on the Fine whorl I was using. This is the-next to-smallest whorl, not the smallest. It was fine while I was playing to get the right twist, but once I tried to quicken up to zip through the plying, the whole MOA assembly vibrated so much I had to slow down. I eventually went back to the larger of the two grooves on the whorl before the whole thing shook to pieces, and slowed my treadling, but there was still a good deal of vibration. I will be plying with my electric spinner in future!

The finished bobbin was nicely full:

The yarn produced by the wheel is lovely.

I haven’t started my next yarn yet – I keep changing my mind WHICH fibre to use…. I have some lovely stuff waiting to be spun, but WHICH next????

14 thoughts on “My First Skein in the SR 30″ Wheel

  1. Beautiful spinning and colours.
    Re the problem with the hooks and the groove. It looks as though the end hook is slightly to far away from the other one. They all look evenly spaced apart from the end one. Would you be able to move it in and perhaps the yarn would then fit the groove?

  2. Beautiful wheel, beautiful fiber, beautiful spinning! Liz, may the two of you spin many happy miles together. 🙂

    It looks to me like the second hook and groove might be made as the route for bulky yarns, and the last hook be used to snug fine yarns up tight against the bobbin flange. (My antique flax wheels have the last hook set close like that. In contrast my modern wheels have the last position of the thread guide set back far enough that lace yarn can’t fill all the way to the end the bobbin, but chunky yarn flows smoothly and fills the bobbin).

  3. Lovely fiber-Carol is local to me and I get to run into her occasionally.
    If you turn the last hook on the flyer just a bit to the right, does that help the yarn run into the groove?

  4. I love your yarn. I am a beginner spinner and have notied before that u split your bats in two then spin. Is the reason for this more even colour.
    Robin

    1. Hi Robin,

      The main reason to split the batts is that as they are, there is too much fibre in the hand. If you want an airy yarn you need to split the batts.

      The colour comes from HOW you split them. In this case I split them across the batt to get a lot of colour change. If I want long colour changes I split down the batt with the colour changes in a striped batt.

      Unlike some people I like the barber pole effect, and the complexity of the colour interactions gives a more subtle yarn.

      Carol sends a vert good sheet with her batts giving three different ways of spinning them to give different effects.

      Liz

      1. How did you split that beautiful batt for the yarn that you spun? The short way or the long way? I looked at her batts on Ravelry and they were 4 oz batts. That is pretty large. I think that the batts that come off of my SuperCard are more like 2 oz. Do you spin from the side with the batt roilled up, or the top?

      2. Most of Carol’s batts are 1 oz, but she often has 3 or 4 of them the same. Here I was using three 1 oz batts. I split them across the batt – ie at right angles to the lay of the fibre and therefore at right angles to the colour strips. I split each batt into 4 pieces, then each piece across the way (ie with the fibre). I made sure I kept them in the same order each time. I then spread each ‘piece’ and rolled them with the fibre, giving a rolag for semi-woollen spinning and spun from the end of the roll.

        Liz

  5. I spin my fine merino the same way as Liz and when I have split the batts I then loosely roll them into two balls and weigh each ball so hopefully I will have an even amount on each bobbin when I ply to avoid having some yarn left on one bobbin

  6. Interesting way of handling those multi colored batts, Elizabeth and Patricia. Now, it would be nice to see how it knits up. Thanks for your timely answer.

Leave a Reply

