It is beginning to look….

…. like spring is really on its way!  There are snowdrops outside the shop, and the daffodils are three or four inches high, with some even showing signs of having a flower bud.

Today the wind is down to the usual breeze and the sun is shining.  There are white fluffy clouds and I even had the front door open for a bit!  I have Nigel with me for a few days and we walked Scottie along to the shop this morning.  As we were stopped along the road talking to a neighbour, from the field a few yards away a skylark rose singing.  It was the first of  the year for both of us!  Soon the seals will be back from across the Flow…

However, there are still signs of winter.  Although the evenings are definitely drawing out, the wonderful winter sunsets are still with us.  This was taken on last night’s dog walk about 5.30 pm:

Meanwhile, back at the house I am getting ready for Anna coming next week.  Mostly I have been making sure all my fibre stuff is ready and that we are not going to run out of food, but I thought I would give the whole place an extra good hoover.  To make life easier, Scottie was outside with his bone (he supervises far too closely and I always end up tripping over him).  When I had finished I let him in – and he came in trailing mud and old grass from four feet and a back….

Will someone remind me why I ever bother to clear up?  Or alternatively, why I have a dog?

 

9 thoughts on “It is beginning to look….

  1. “Soon the seals will be back from across the Flow. . .” You have no idea how romantic that sounds. Sigh – my travel budget is so anemic.

    Yep, the floors in this household are constantly resupplied with pet hair and dead twigs too.

  2. I agree with Gretchen – especially when my view is a 6 foot snowbank!! And I would love a dog – unconditional adoration and companionship is hard to beat 🙂

  3. I am so utterly sick of mopping up my two every time we go outside, the same for a quick wee-break as a long walk. Constant muddy feet and tums all the time – it seems to have been raining for weeks and weeks here. Dry today, the ground’s dried rapidly, but it will rain more tonight. Phew. But it is much warmer and more spring-like here too.

  4. I have no idea why you humans insist on having dogs. We cats keep ourselves clean. Oh, you were referring the paw prints? Mat by the door and we will wipe our paws as well. The cat hairs? They are a present, appreciate them! 🙂

  5. I wonder too if the unconditional love and companionship we get from our four-legged friend really balances out the aggravation of hair and mud everywhere. Methinks it does. Thank you for the beautiful images of your part of the world.

  6. April 13th and we are just starting to see the first crocus flowers. Tulips and daffodils are just green points above the ground. I’d love to be in the UK in the spring.

Leave a Reply

