Wengen en fete!

Last weekend was one of the biggest in the village’s year – the Lauberhorn World Cup races.  Over the winter there are 5 or 6 different World Cup races in Europe, and the Lauberhorn is the longest downhill and one of the oldest.

Ever since I had arrived preparations were being made.  The race village was being built, complete with huge TV screen, and along the course the army were employed putting up barriers, building VIP stands, marquees – and loos!

The main races were on the Friday, Saturday and Sunday – Friday and Saturday being the two downhill runs and Sunday the slalom.  The village was very full those days both with competitors and spectators, with different teams being in different hotels.  The Canadian team was in here, and a very nice bunch they were too!

Lauberhorn race village with big screen and Mannlichen range
Lauberhorn race village in Wengen

One thing non-skiers could enjoy was the air display by the Swiss Airforce team, the Patrouille Suisse.  I was able to stand on my balcony in the sun and watch the six aircraft dive into the valley and out over the mountains in a spectacular 18 minute display.  Despite only having my travel camera with me I got some decent pix:

While talking about the village, a few general shots to put it in the landscape.  The first is taken from across the valley on a day we had a bit of snow, with my hotel ringed:

This one, taken from the top of Mannlichen, shows Wengen with Lauterbrunnen in the valley below:

And this one, taken from the same place but looking slightly left, shows the Lauterbrunnen valley, Mureen and the Schilthorn:

This is the main street with my hotel on the left:

My room….

… and the friend I found waiting for me there:

2 thoughts on “Wengen en fete!

  1. Looks as if you are having a fabulous time Liz!
    I’d love to hear from you when you are back home – I have a little request
    Meanwhile have fun
    Liz at Calibre Audio Library

Leave a Reply

