Starting out with a new yarn

Having just got two items off to mags this morning, I am now thinking about a couple of things I CAN write about!!

I was in Ldil the other day and they had some of their cotton yarn in.  I have seen this before, and have used it to make wash cloths.  This time I bought two 300 g packs, for £3.99 each:

I am going to make a top with the orange and a baby poncho with the pastel.  I have got as far as knowing the top will be cropped with a square neck.  And lacy.  I haven’t yet decided whether it will have puff sleeves or wide drop shoulders – both are in evidence on the catwalks/catalogues/mags….  The colour is right on trend, and fun after a lot of white.

The poncho I think of as being a beach cover-up, with the added advantage of the fact that it can be used as a towel!  This yarn is very soft….  I haven’t yet decided whether it will be based on rectangles with a hole for the head and a hood, or a circle with a hole for the head and a hood!!  The fabric will be openwork, but not too lacy so that it can be used for a boy.

My next step is to start swatching.  I am finished off another item and while I do that I will be thinking further – I like to know the basics of where I am going before I start swatching with a yarn I know.

As they say, Watch this space…!

Leave a Reply

