Playing….

I don’t usually moan here, so I have not mentioned that I came back from India with a cold, and went straight in to another between Christmas and New Year, which turned into a cough.  That would not go, despite my patent remedy of a good single malt with hot water and Lemsip.  As a result I have had no energy, and didn’t want to do anything I should be doing.

So as usual, I played my psychological games with myself, and for every couple of hours knitting the gansey, I allowed myself to play with beads for a bit!!  Yep – I know it is silly, but it WORKS!!

While South I had ordered a good selection of beads from Jilly Beads. I have used them several times before, and they are excellent – fast service and extremely good prices for the UK.  Almost as soon as they came home, I was sorting them to see what I had got – their mixes are particularly good.  And then it was not long (another hour at the gansey) before I was sorting ones out to make myself a hand bag charm…

I was given a lovely purple bag for Christmas by my brother (I suspect his wife chose it!!), which had some deep aqua embroidery – exactly the same colour as the cashmere scarf I got in Mumbai.  The other colour in the embroidery was lime.  So I put together a selction of possible beads.  Some were new and others I had had for a while.  I also found some charms – flowers and stars as they follow the embroidery, plus a couple of others that went..

Then came the playing….  What fun!  I fiddled with the beads and made up 7 dangles before joining them together with jump rings to make a chain.  As ever, there were some beads I didn’t use – I like to have too many out so that I have a choice right to the end.

And the finished article in close up and on the bag with the scarf:

Now all I need is to be able to go out with it…!!

4 thoughts on “Playing….

  1. The helpful photo shows very well how the charm is constructed. The last time I ‘made’ anything jewellery-related was attaching an old silver pendant to a broken zipper with jewellery wire; your pretty charm has made me think I must get out my beads and make some birthday presents.

    1. Well… I am giving such things as pressies this year! I just love playing with the beads and colours… It is very simple, and if you buy mixed beads you have the fun of lots of different ones as cheaper prices!

      Liz

Leave a Reply

