Posted by: Elizabeth Lovick | April 10, 2014

Scottie the Scottie. RB 10.04.14

last pic of Scottie

It is with a heavy heart that I’m writing to say Scottie was helped to the Rainbow bridge this afternoon. This photo was taken on this morning’s walk about half an hour before he became ill.

He had been fit and well up to this morning – getting rather deaf, but otherwise his usual happy self. He thoroughly enjoyed his walk on West Hill this morning, but as he got out of the car he stopped, and hardly seemed to be able to walk. He came in an lay down – not happy but not distressed.

Fortunately we have a noon ferry on a Thursday so I had just enough time to pick him up and dash to the ferry. There wasn’t much room but the boys got me on. He went straight to the vet, who said she wanted to keep him for a couple of hours to do blood tests and x-rays.

The x-rays showed a huge tumour on his spleen. I had no choice but to be with him as he was put down. It was all very peaceful.

He was only 10.

He had come to me via the Scottish Terrier Emergency Care Scheme, the UK Scottie rescue group, in September 2005. At that point he was so fat he couldn’t sit down. But he soon lost the weight. (He would have told you I just didn’t feed him enough!) He was always a very happy chappy, friends with everyone, and enjoying everything which came his way. And he made me (and lots of other people) laugh day after day!

So here are a few pix, all taken in the past 6 months or so, to remember him by.

Taking care of Nigel

Taking care of Nigel

 

Sharing his bone with 'his' blackbird

Sharing his bone with ‘his’ blackbird

 

His favourite place in winter!

His favourite place in winter!

 

Scottie and Tash

Posing with my granddaughter, Tash

 

One of his favourite walks, in summer...

One of his favourite walks, in summer…

 

... and in winter

… and in winter

 

His favourite position in the car on the island.

His favourite position in the car on the island.

 

His favourite activity when out - smelling the grass!

His favourite activity when out – smelling the grass!

 

Always nosy!

Always nosy!

 

And always happy!!

And always happy!!

Responses

  1. Oh Liz, my heart goes out to you. So sudden and unexpected. We will all miss him. Such a sweet little dog. xo

  2. So sorry to hear of your loss, I loved seeing his photos, he will always be in the hearts of everyone who knew him.

  3. He was very handsome. I’m so sorry for your loss.

  4. Oh, Elizabeth, I’m so sorry. I have always loved seeing the pictures of your fine fellow and though how much joy he must give you on your quiet walks and when you knit and spin. I know you will miss him.
    That was a sad, sudden thing to happen–but at least he didn’t suffer. Poor little thing. Poor you. I’m really sorry. It’s a cruel blow. You are in my prayers.

  5. Huge heartfelt hug from Downunder – there are some things words can’t say!

  6. oh that is so sad I’m just crying. lost too many

  7. My heart goes out to you. It is so hard to lose a friend. I will be thinking about you in the days to come.

  8. What a blessing he was to you and those you love.

  9. Am so sorry, Liz. My Mum and Dad had two scotties when I was young – both eccentrics….They are a delightful breed and your Scottie looks as though he was the same – he had a lovely face! You will miss him so much – much sympathy……

  10. My heart breaks for you. It’s so hard to lose such a loved and trusted friend. I know Scottie was grateful for the loving and secure home you gave him and for all the adventures you shared with him.

  11. You gave him all the love you could Liz and just as important you were there for him at the end as he headed for Rainbow Bridge.

  12. My heartfelt condolences to you and your family. It is always so very hard to lose a dear family member, who shared so much love and cheer with you. I think now you have an angel with four legs watching over you.

  13. So sorry for you. He looks like such a sweet tempered and fun loving dog who was a big part of your family life. I’m certain you will miss him.

  14. So sorry for your loss- he had a wonderful life with you.

  15. So sorry for your loss of your furry family member. I could quote all sorts of platitudes, but you would still have a Scottie-sized hole in your heart. Thank goodness you have so many happy memories, gave Scottie a happy home, and that his end was quick to limit his suffering. I believe there is a Heaven, and of course our pets are in it (they deserve it far more than most people do!)

  16. Liz, so sorry to hear this. My condolences to you and those who cared for him.

  17. Lovely photos and precious memories Liz – thinking of you. A friend had to put her scottie down last week around the same age and it is so hard but at least he did not suffer. My Scott is 13 and I know living on borrowed time I just hope when he does go it will be peaceful in his sleep.

  18. I’m so sorry to learn that Scottie has departed. As a fellow dog lover I know what a massive hole they leave behind. I’m sure he had a wonderful life with you – thank you for rescuing him. I’m pleased that his suffering was so brief. It is amazing how dogs can carry on and hide thing like this.
    Liz

  19. So sorry to hear about Scottie. At least he had a lovely walk and his passing was over quickly. I know what a hole this will leave in your lives but there may be another little dog out there who would appreciate a loving home.

  20. I’m so very sorry about your loss – my condolences.

  21. So very sorry, so sad and so sudden. Take heart in that you gave him a long and happy life he might not have enjoyed otherwise. Rescued animals have a special love for those who take them in, of that I am sure, and we love them back.

  22. So sorry for your loss. I, Too loved the pictures and stories of Scottie. At least he went quickly and was spared any suffering. As an owner of dogs, I do understand how you must feel.

  23. My heart goes out to you. He was a special boy and you gave him a wonderful home.

  24. Oh Liz, that is too young; I am so sorry! I know how it feels; we discovered my heart dog had an inoperable tumor at age 7 1/2….

  25. He was such a lucky boy to have found you and your family. Some of your photos really show how very important he must have felt and what an important job he had taking care of you all. My heart aches for you, Liz.

  26. What a beautiful soul he was. I am sorry for your sorrow.

  27. Oh I am so sorry. Our dogs give us so much love and companionship. I am so sad about your lose, but love your pictures, so he is really never gone.

  28. Sorry for your loss. He looked like a great little dog.

  29. What a little cutie. I’m so sorry he had to go!

  30. I’m so sorry for your loss. There is nothing comparable to the love you receive from your dog or how much they mean to you. Sending hugs your way.

  31. Such sad and shocking news. I’m very sorry for your loss.w

  32. So sorry to hear of your loss. I always enjoyed seeing pictures of Scotty. Cherish his memory.

  33. I cried when I read this. What a loving tribute you gave him. Makes me think of the sweet animals that have graced my life, but are now across the bridge. So sorry, please accept my condolences and heartfelt sympathies.

  34. Liz, I am so very sorry about Scotty. My heart aches for you. He was lucky to have had you as his person for so much of his life.

  35. Liz I am just reading about your loss of Scotty. I’m so sorry! They are never with us long enough. Sending hugs

  36. Thank you all so much for your kind comments. I really do appreciate every one of them. Don’t let anyone every tell you internet friends are not really friends!

  37. Dear Liz, It looks that your dear “Scotty” lived in a dog’s paradise I love pictures of lace but I love pictures of dogs more and he always looked so happy in every picture. I admit that my favorite posts always included pictures of “Scotty.” I know that he was loved by all of you from the moment he arrived till the moment he slipped out of your arms and into his eternal paradise of sea smells and heather and buffeting winds and gentle sunshine. I am so sorry for your loss.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 971 other followers

