The Sorting of the Sheds

As many of you know, my house was renovated last year, ripped out to the fours walls and roof. During that time I took delivery of a second, 10 ft by 16 ft, shed.

PhotoELF Edits:2014:03:25 --- Save - Overwrite --- resize

Within hours of it being installed, it was filled with everything from the house. Once the house was finished, the bigger items of furniture were taken out, and everything for the small shed in the front was put into it so that the small shed could be moved and a new concrete base made.

The net result of all this was that I had two sheds filled with stuff in no particular order, and I didn’t have a clue where things were. I had hoped to sort them out over the summer, but that was not to be. Elly had agreed to come over and help me, and over the past weeks we kept an eye on the weather forecast, looking for two days together with very little wind and no rain. Finally we got them!

I was aiming for ‘household’ stuff in the small front shed, and fibre stuff in the back. What we started with was this in the front, small (8 x 8 ft) shed….

PhotoELF Edits: 2014:03:25 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; resize

… and this in the back, large, shed.

PhotoELF Edits: 2014:03:25 --- Save - Overwrite --- resize

Sheds 002

One the first day we got all the yarn into the main room…

PhotoELF Edits: 2014:03:25 --- Save - Overwrite --- resize

…. and then got everything out of the bags and boxes and back into the RIGHT boxes, chucking broken boxes and bags in the process.

PhotoELF Edits: 2014:03:25 --- Save - Overwrite --- resize

(You will be pleased to know that all the commotion did not affect the dog’s sleep.)

PhotoELF Edits: 2014:03:25 --- Save - Overwrite --- resize

We ended up with the right yarns in the right boxes.

PhotoELF Edits: 2014:03:25 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop

That done, we took the organised boxes out of the house…

PhotoELF Edits: 2014:03:25 --- Save - Overwrite --- resize

… and put them in the right place in the back shed.

PhotoELF Edits: 2014:03:25 --- Save - Overwrite --- resize

That took all day.

The next day we did the same with fibre. Once more the main room was filled with fleece, roving, tops etc.

PhotoELF Edits: 2014:03:25 --- Save - Overwrite --- resize

And once more we sorted it out into the RIGHT boxes before putting them back into the new shed in the right place in the right order.

At the same time, all sorts of bits I had ‘lost’ came to light – everything from the old toothbrushes for cleaning taps to pairs of shoes I hadn’t seen for 14 months. Household stuff, cases etc came out of the back shed into the front, and everything was put tidily away.

The results were as follows:

The back shed:

Sheds 013

The front shed:

Sheds 011

Sheds 012

Just the next day I needed a particular balls of yarn. I was able to go straight out, straight to the right box, and straight to the right yarn.

Brilliant!!

18 thoughts on “The Sorting of the Sheds

  1. At some point must have seemed like an overwhelming task! Renovations test us to the very core and I can only imagine that you sleep better for surviving them and getting organized. Thanks for sharing this story, it brings back some mixed memories. I think you must be very brave.

  2. How absolutely wonderful to have that behind you. What a huge relief it always is to have gone through things and know what’s where. You’ve inspired me.
    OX

  3. You are invited to sunny California to help me move… hobbies include… knitting, quilting and genealogy… each requiring its ow organization… and I am down-sizing… hmmm…

  4. My husband teases me about being a hoarder and needing to be on one of those tv shows…I say I’m adding to the insulation factor of one side of our home because of wools insulating properties. I do love plastic bins…I like having mine organized by yarn types, so much easier to find things. I have also learned over the years to purchase clear bins, as I now can see which bin I’m needing to dive into.

    Thanks for the pics, as I now don’t feel so guilty about having three wheels…lol.

    Great job ladies!

  5. Great job! Now can you both come to my house for 4 days? Seriously though – very inspirational. I’ll have to start dragging box types upstairs and see what can be sorted, weeded out and repackaged in a more useful way. My husband teases me that I am the “Plastic Box Queen” but he actually suggested that I get some clear ones so I can see what’s in there. :)

  6. I am so impressed! My yarn and fiber stash is microscopic compared to yours – but how lovely your organisation is! You’ve been invited elsewhere to sort other folks’ stashes out – why not add Savannah, GA to your list to visit? ;)

Leave a Reply

