Posted by: Elizabeth Lovick | March 6, 2014

My Take on the Kissiae Stole by Elly Doyle

It isn’t often I have the urge, or have the time, to make something for myself from someone else’s pattern. But once in a while I see something I just have to make. Last year it was a hat. This year it was a crocheted scarf.

I only saw it because I know the designer, Elly Doyle. And I just LOVED the way the leaves ‘hang’ on the mesh!

Photo copyright Kat Goldin

Photo copyright Kat Goldin

But living on an island where the wind is a constant companion, scarves are not really practical – they just blow off your shoulders. So I decided I would make a cowl instead. Those do not have ends to blow away!

And being me, I wanted to play with the colours. I hadn’t used Brown Sheep yarn before, but from Elly’s website I could see it came in loads of saturated colours. I knew I wanted it to go with both my caramel coat and my black coat, and also with as many of my everyday sweaters as possible, so I could wear it as a collar. I spent a good while trying to decide what to use, and finally came up with this combination:

PhotoELF Edits: 2014:03:06 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; resize

The yarn is Nature Spun, a sports weight (about DK) wool, which turned out to be lovely to work with, although the names of the colours were a tad fanciful!

PhotoELF Edits: 2014:03:06 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; resize

The pattern was easy to follow and fun to knit. The design is clever, as you are effectively knitting both a mesh background and the leaves on the mesh at the same time. As always with crochet, I find I have to really concentrate on the pattern first time through – unlike knitting, it is difficult to ‘see’ the result in your mind, and so many of the actions take far longer to read than to do – but once I had sussed out how it all worked, it was easy to do.

PhotoELF Edits: 2014:03:06 --- Save - Overwrite --- resize; gamma

In wear, the mesh is hardly seen, but it makes the piece move well, and when it is seen, it looks as if the leaves are growing on a trellis!

PhotoELF Edits: 2014:03:06 --- Save - Overwrite --- gamma; resize

And the final cowl/collar:

06 Ellys cowl

If you are on Ravelry, you can buy the pattern here for £3, and see more of Elly’s work here. If you are not on Ravelry you can buy the pattern through The Crochet Project here. Elly sells the Brown Sheep yarn in the UK, and her website is here.

Responses

  1. It looks wonderful Liz, love the colours as well as the pattern.

  2. Looks lovely! WIll go check out Elly’s stuff too. pw x


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 995 other followers

