Posted by: Elizabeth Lovick | November 6, 2013

Week 2 with Elly!

Having spent a lot of time working, we decided it was time for a day off. With arranged with my son Nick to pick us up from the ferry and take us sight (or site) seeing round the West Mainland, though the World Heritage Site.

We took both Scottie and Nick’s collie Bess with us, and the first stop was the Ring of Brodgar so that they could run off some energy:

PhotoELF Edits:2013:11:06 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; resize

Many of the stones have interesting graffiti on them…

PhotoELF Edits: 2013:11:06 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; resize

… and are well worth a close look.

P1160381

Then it was off to Skara Brae, the ‘oldest village in Europe’.

PhotoELF Edits: 2013:11:06 --- Save - Overwrite --- resize

I never get tired of showing folks round these sites. They are about 5000 years old, and set in fabulous scenery.

PhotoELF Edits: 2013:11:06 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; resize

We followed our usual route round Birsay and over to the Broch of Gurness, probably my favourite site. It is a simple Iron Age broch, with village round, but the setting is superb…

PhotoELF Edits:2013:11:06 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; resize

PhotoELF Edits:2013:11:06 --- Save - Overwrite --- resize

PhotoELF Edits: 2013:11:06 --- Save - Overwrite --- resize

After a couple more days of hard work….

PhotoELF Edits: 2013:11:06 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; resize

… I had a surprise when I went for the local paper:

P1160429

PhotoELF Edits: 2013:11:06 --- Save - Overwrite --- rotate; crop; resize

Then it was all about getting ready for Saturday. That was the Flotta Day for the Orkney Nature festival mini autumn festival. I spent the day giving workshop, and Elly spent some time in the workshop….

PhotoELF Edits: 2013:11:06 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; resize

… and some time out on a boat. More about that in the next post, but here is a taster of what they were looking for:

PhotoELF Edits: 2013:11:06 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; resize

Responses

  1. Love the photos Liz I have forwarded your e-mail on to my brother who at the moment is working on our Leask Family Tree and has made contact with a lady in Ballarat who knows where some of the farms are that our ancestors lived on. I live in hope that he will get interested enough to want to come to Orkney and I could tag along – dreams are free. Patricia

  2. the ruins: what an awesome site!

  3. I have a photo of that exact same “grafitti” (Isbister) on the Ring of Brodgar standing stone, from my trip some 6 years ago! I am also pleased to report that I was able to order a copy of your latest book from AMAZON.CA, and it arrived quite speedily – to my delight!

  4. Thanks for the review and preview, Liz! Ring of Brodgar and Skara Brae I got to see–so good to have reality after all the reading. Birsay and the Broch of Gurness: next time. I almost got there on this trip, which was so beautifully full. And it’s good to have more to anticipate.

    I’ve been to the Orcadian Bookshop! I have The Magic of Shetland Knitting (although it was not available yet when I was at the Orcadian . . . I bought maps and another book there . . . I seized one of the first copies to appear, at the Shetland Museum). Bravo again on your accomplishment! I do love this book.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 888 other followers

