Posted by: Elizabeth Lovick | October 16, 2013

It’s Tuesday, so it must be COLOURMART!!!

As Nick and I were going up the M5 and M6 it seamed like a good idea to do a detour to Shrewbury to visit ColourMart and its owner, Richard Lawn.

We arrived a bit early, and took a foot bridge over the river (the Severn) to a park opposite where Richard lives. I miss trees in Orkney so look plenty of pix…

PhotoELF Edits: 2013:10:16 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; resize

And a pleasure barge, the Sabrina, was good enough to pass just at the right time!

PhotoELF Edits: 2013:10:16 --- Save - Overwrite --- gamma; resize

PhotoELF Edits: 2013:10:16 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; resize

Then it was back to meet Richard, and to see this famous building:

PhotoELF Edits: 2013:10:16 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; resize

No, it is not just any garage. It is where ColourMart started back in 2005.

PhotoELF Edits: 2013:10:16 --- Save - Overwrite --- gamma; resize

Richard and I ‘met’ on line pretty soon after he first started selling the remains of industrial cones of cashmere on Ebay, and I have been using his yarns, and writing patterns using them, ever since. This was pre-Ravelry, and people wanted patterns specifically for his yarns.

After a lovely lunch, we went over to the warehouse which is ColourMart’s current home. From then on in, all is pretty hazy… My camera failed to work, and Nick kindly took over, but I now realise I didn’t get pix of the workforce (sorry), only of Richard with the winding machine:

PhotoELF Edits: 2013:10:16 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; resize

We did get some pix of yarns, however:

PhotoELF Edits: 2013:10:16 --- Save - Overwrite --- resize

PhotoELF Edits: 2013:10:16 --- Save - Overwrite --- resize

I didn’t get one of my haul – that is being sent home by post so I’ll get one when it arrives!

The place was a natural fibre lover’s paradise! Bins and bins of cones and cones of yarn… Shelves of yarn… Boxes of yarn. The colours were out of this world.

PhotoELF Edits: 2013:10:16 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; resize

PhotoELF Edits: 2013:10:16 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; resize

I also realised I HAD to have some types which I had seen on line but which hadn’t grabbed me. The Fair Isle sparkles were one such line. Utterly gorgeous in reality.

PhotoELF Edits: 2013:10:16 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; resize

There were other customers there too, including folk I have known on line and on Ravelry for some time. Again, I wasn’t thinking straight and didn’t get pix – stupid of me, but I hope other cashmere addicts will excuse me.

PhotoELF Edits: 2013:10:16 --- Save - Overwrite --- resize

PhotoELF Edits:2013:10:16 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; resize

PhotoELF Edits: 2013:10:16 --- Save - Overwrite --- resize

And as you would expect, the service and prices are second to none! Thank you Richard and Sue and everyone for a super time.

Responses

  1. How delightful to see a picture of the shy Richard. The more I see pictures of the inside of The Warehouse Of Wonders, the more I think it is just as well I live so far away. I can imagine the lack of restraint that would surely envelope me as I furtled therein.

  2. Lucky lucky you!! What a wonderful blog – I love reading about your adventures and your pics are always amazing.

  3. Thanks Nick, for being the suffering son & taking pics of your mum- who is wearing the biggest smile anyone can have. I can smell those yarn fumes half a world away :-D

  4. We live vicariously through you! Thanks for thinking to give us a peep at our beloved ColourMart.

  5. Yarn heaven – and Richard and Sue run an amazing service – fast, efficient and friendly. (There is a little gang of teen knitters here who are just, ever so slightly, in love with them all.)

  6. I think you’re having too much fun, Liz. Keep it up! And thanks for sharing. See you again soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 888 other followers

